Skip to content

Asheville, NC: A Foodie’s Weekend Out

September 5, 2011

ASHEVILLE, N.C.  – For once, I went somewhere on four wheels instead of on two wings. Amy1N, a.k.a “You’ll-have-what-I-have-Amy,” insisted that I had to join her for a weekend getaway. She was in the middle of a rather stressful audit at work, she’d just gone through a tough spell in her personal life and I’d been working like a dog all summer. It was, indeed, time for a getaway.

Tupelo Honey Cafe on Urbanspoon Amy had waxed poetic about Tupelo Honey Cafe pretty much since she and I started talking food, which was probably the second sentence between us when we started talking. She bought their cookbook and I’d salivated over some of their recipes, but it wasn’t much of a preparation for sitting down to a table and watching as the waitress plopped a plate of steaming, hot biscuits before us. We dug in like sharks after raw meat. It was our first meal in Asheville.

Tupelo Honey second visit: Shrimp and grits, Omelet. Nom.

I had the meatloaf that Amy had been telling me I would have to eat, and she dug into an omelet. Tupelo Honey was the only place where we repeated a visit – in fact, Amy had the same omelet all over again. I’d have urged her to pick something different, but she’s the one with the “I’m not bossy, I just know what you should be doing,” T-shirt.

Another worthy mention was the Sunny Point Cafe. Dinner the second night found us there; I finally got the Shrimp and Grits I’d been waiting for, and Amy dug into the meatloaf. “I used to think Tupelo Honey had the best meatloaf I’d EVER tasted,” Amy said. “Not anymore.”  My plate had HUGE, thick chunks of bacon. It was amazing. A. Maze. Ing.

Sunny Point Cafe & Bakery on Urbanspoon

Now Amy is the one responsible for getting me running, and eating right. But this was our splurge weekend, and eyeballing the dessert menu, we COULD NOT RESIST. Buttermilk Cheesecake caught our eye. My tongue slapped Amy’s hand back from the table to make sure I got the last bite. It was just that good.

Amy, a long time fan of Tupelo Honey's meatloaf, found a new source for her fix: Sunny Point Cafe

I'm a shrimp and grits addict. As Amy fell in love with her meatloaf at Sunny Point Cafe, I nearly cried into my shrimp and grits -that had huge hunks of super-thick sliced bacon!

We also had a breakfast at the Early Girl Eatery  the one day I got Amy to wake up in time for breakfast. Oh wait. We ended up eating lunch. It was too late for breakfast.

Asheville is a pretty hippy kind of place, and I’d have a rough time living there. But… for a place to get away a little while and find some great food, it works just fine!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

